Yogic teaching says that we have to learn gradually to tolerate sensations and feelings in the physical body, and thoughts in the mind, without reacting to them by either holding or pushing away. Craving and aversion (the third and fourth kleshas) roil the body-mind and create a kind of white noise in the system that obscures seeing clearly. For this reason, the development of a compassionate. grounded, centered, continuous, and abiding sense of self is at the core of yogic practice.

Steadied Wisdom: He whose mind is not affected in sorrow and is free from desire in pleasure and who is without attachment, fear, or anger – he is called a sage of “steadied insight”.

Stephen Cope

Doshas, Koshas, Bandhas and Kleshas


Yoga and the Koshas – the layers of being


the 5 kleshas – the roots of pain & suffering


Breath Meditation




#thebodymechanic #workingoutthekinks #bridgettelyndolgoff #quantumconnectivemedicine #energymedicine #structuralmedicine #traditionalosteopath #herbalmedicine #nutritionalmedicine #medicalintuitive #stillpointtherapy #bonemarrowtherapy #Lemniscatetherapy #shamanism #anthroposophymedicine #biodynamicfarmer #thecranialmethod

How to Practice Shamatha Meditation - Lion's Roar


In Addition To…

End Suffering

In addition to the mind, body, and personality, yoga teaches that the true home of the soul is also beyond time and space, in the external now of consciousness. When we live disconnected from the vast roots of the Self, We suffer. Self is capitalized here because it refers to the divine, awake, free self. Giving the yogic view of our predicament, it’s not surprising that we are often so estranged, that we feel unreal, that we feel disconnected from our center. That is precisely our condition.

The classical “scriptures” identify five “afflictions” or kleshas, five conditioned beliefs and behaviors that keep us bound to ” gross apparent reality.” They are:

Ignorance, I-ness, Attraction, Aversion, Clinging to life, and fear of death.

Ignorance is the ground from which all other afflictions spring. Out of Ignorance arises I-ness the belief in and clinging to a separate, solid, “small s” self. Out of the I-ness arise attraction and aversion, our complete identification with our likes and dislikes. And out of this inevitably arises clinging to life and fear of death, a deluded and desperate desire for life to be small, neat, permanent, and solid rather than vast, incomprehensible, impermanent, and discontinuous as it really is.

In addition to the five afflictions, the scriptures also identify four erroneous beliefs that sustain the delusion of the kleshas. These are:

The belief in the permanence of objects, The belief in the ultimate reality of the body, The belief that our state of suffering IS REALLY HAPPINESS, and The belief that our bodies, minds, and feelings are our true selves.